Ramel Curry — MVP of VTB United League regular season


American guard of «Azovmash» Ramel Curry is recognized to be MVP (Most Valuable Player) of the regular season of VTB United League-2010/2011. The holder of this title was defined according to the result of the voting of the heads of 12 clubs-participants of VTB United League that also named best players according to the results of each tour of group round of the tournament.

MVP of the regular season was defined as a result of the sum of marks collected by the contenders for the mentioning in the number of laureates of all 10 rounds (the player received 3 points for the title of MVP, and 1 point for getting into best 5 players) and in the best 3 players according to the opinion of the Heads of the clubs (3 points were awarded for the 1st place, 2 — for 2nd, 1 for 3rd).

Thereby Ramel Curry got 25 points ( he took 18,4 points made 4,6 rebounds, 2,7 steals, 2,8 assists and eventually earned 20,4 points for effective actions per game). And Curry will get the super prize - the korean SsangYong Rexton off-road car, granted by official sponsor of the League by «Sollers». His main rivals in the duel for the honored title became the forward of UNICS Maciej Lampe (with 21 points) and American guard of «Khimki» Keath Langford (with 14 points).
The Awarding Ceremony of the MVP of VTB United League regular season will be held on the April 22 during «Final four» in Kazan.

Right after summing up the poll for MVP of the regular season of VTB United League-2010/11 our web-site contacted Curry by telephone and told him good news.

- I cannot believe it! - he shouted into the phone - I'm the MVP of the regular season, plus I will get a new off-road car. You ain’t kidding? .. This is the first such event in my professional career. It is very cool and very honorable. Thanks to VTB United League for this title.
- What will you do with this prize, which you will receive during the «Final four» in Kazan?
- I did not think about it yet. It is not Christmas now (laughs). But seriously - this season is very good for me and for «Azovmash». We got to the «Final four» and on April 22 we will play against CSKA. I dreamt to play with this team for a long time. I know that it will be very difficult but we will fight till the end!

Voting of the Heads of the Clubs:
Andrey Vatutin, CSKA President:
1. Holden (CSKA). 2. Langford («Khimki»).3. Curry («Azovmash»).
Victor Bychkov, «Khimki» General director:
1. Langford («Khimki»). 2. Lampe (UNICS). 3. Monya («Khimki»).
Evgeny Bogachev, UNICS President:
1. Lampe (UNICS). 2. Curry («Azovmash»). 3. Langford («Khimki»).
Boris Maletsky, «Azovmash» Vice-president:
1. Curry («Аzovmash»). 2. Varda («Аsseco Prokom»). 3. Lampe (UNICS).
Paulius Motiejunas, «Zalgiris» General director:
1. Curry («Аzovmash») 2. Popovic (UNICS) 3. Langford («Khimki»).
Martynas Purlys, «Lietuvos Rytas «Director:
1. Lampe (UNICS). 2. Gecevicius («Lietuvos Rytas»). 3. Ewing («Аsseco Prokom»).
Konstantin Shereverya, «Minsk-2006» General Director:
1. Curry («Аzovmash»). 2. Vorontsevich (CSKA) 3. Lampe (UNICS).
Tomas Pesesas, «Аsseco Prokom» head coach:
1. Lampe (UNICS). 2. Langford («Khimki»). 3. Langdon (CSKA).
Edgars Jaunups, VEF General director:
1. Curry («Аzovmash»). 2. Popovic (UNICS). 3. Gecevicius («Lietuvos Rytas»).
Valery Kondratyev, «Dnipro» President:
1. Popovic (UNICS). 2. Siskauskas (CSKA). 3. Curry («Azovmash»).
Ivar Valdmaa, «Kalev» President:
1. Langford («Khimki»). 2. Curry («Аzovmash»). 3. Lampe (UNICS).
Sampsa Rekonen, «Honka» General director:
1. Lampe (UNICS). 2. Gecevicius («Lietuvos Rytas»). 3. Curry («Аzovmash»).

Mentioning in the lists of the best in 10 tours of group round:
Curry («Azovmash») – 6 points (2 titles of the MVP),
MacCarty (UNICS) – 5 (1 title of the MVP),
Gecevicius («Lietuvos Rytas») – 5,
Lampe (UNICS), House («Аzovmash») – 4 (both have the title MVP),
Alexander, Pustozvonov (both - «Аzovmash»), Vorontsevich, Langdon (both - CSKA), Papadopoulos («Khimki») – 3 (each has title of MVP),
Popovic (UNICS) – 3,
King («Minsk-2006»), Langford («Khimki»), Lyday (UNICS), Pocius («Zalgiris»), Keerles («Кalev») – 2,
Smodis, Gordon, Кurbanov, Кaun, Marjanovic (all from - CSKA), Newley, El-Amin, Valanciunas (all from – («Lietuvos Rytas»), Watson, Collins (both from – «Zalgiris»), Burtt, Ostin (both from - «Dnipro»), Cain, Parakhouskis (both from - VEF), Monya, Eze (both from – «Khimki»), Mc Kee («Minsk-2006»), Owens («Azovmash») – 1.

Result — Best Five Players:

1. Ramel Curry («Аzovmash») – 25 points

2. Maciej Lampe (UNICS) – 21

3. Keath Langford («Khimki») – 14

4-5. Marko Popovic (UNICS) – 10

4-5. Martinas Gecevicius («Lietuvos Rytas») – 10.